Name My Blog!

Posted: April 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

I was lucky enough to win the Maryland, Delaware, D.C. Press Association Award for Best Blog last week. It’s the second time in three years I’ve received the honor, but the first since I re-booted the blog last November.
The judges said, “This is everything you want in a blog – concise writing; catchy nontraditional subject matter; teasers to inside content; links and embedded videos that make you want check back for updates. Love the reference to the Babe and the congressional religion data. All you need is a catchy name.”
Let’s face it. Matt Palmer’s Blog is a wickedly lame name, right? So, let’s change that.
So, here’s the challenge to you: name my blog. This blog is supposed to be youthful, funny and sometimes edgy. The name sounds about as exciting as reading tweets from a mortician. Give me a name that matches what I’m aiming for here.
Post your new name for the blog in the comments section of this blog with your e-mail attached. The winner with the best suggestion will win two tickets to an Orioles game on me.

I turn 33 May 17. Deadline will be May 10 and we’ll announce the winner on my birthday. Click on the bubble and name this blog!

Comments
  1. I know it is a slightly dated reference, but “The Palmer Method” references back to classic penmanship and I think could work…

  2. Matt Palmer says:

    Alright. So, we’ve got 1! Who else? Name my blog, people!

  3. Sarah Holst says:

    “Not Too Young” in reference to Jer. 1: 7 (But the LORD answered me, Say not, “I am too young.” To whomever I send you, you shall go; whatever I command you, you shall speak).

    or

    You could reference the documents Renewing the Vision and Sons and Daughters of the Light by calling your blog “Vision and Light.”

  4. Knowing your passion for Star Wars, my first thought was “Catholic Jedi.” I did a google search, however, and there is already a Catholic blog out there called “Catholic Jedi Academy.” The names might be too similar.

    I can’t paste the image for this next one, so you’ll have to imagine it. What if you called it “Generation X” — but instead of the ‘X,’ you used the chi-ro symbol for Christ… (The X with the P over it). I think it would look kinda cool and you could make it graphically interesting.

    Searching for faith quotes, I came across this from Henry Ward Beecher: “Every tomorrow has two handles. We can take hold of it with the handle of anxiety or the handle of faith.” Maybe your blog could play off of that with “Faith Handle,” “Handle of Faith” or “Faith’s Handle.”

    You could also go with something simple like “Faith Walk.”

    This is a tough assignment. I’ll keep thinking!

    P.S. – I like Sarah & Scott’s suggestions!

  5. Matt Palmer says:

    Wow. Things are heating up. I’m liking all the suggestions.

  6. Kevin says:

    Why do we have to name your blog? you are the award winning writer. Stop being lazy. Congrats on the MDDC award… I have one of those on my shelf with my daytime emmy.

  7. Fr. Jim Proffitt says:

    How about “The Welcome Matt” Each day you can “put out the Welcome Matt.” … or how about”The Gospel According to Matthew”? … I think that might be in the public domain by down.

    Cheesy? Maybe. Enough to get me to an Orioles game? Let’s see.

  8. Michael Gahagan says:

    Matt Palmer’s Random Thoughts …

  9. Patti Murphy Dohn says:

    I just saw this today at 8:30 and I have been pondering the possibilities.
    “Once Upon a MATTress” seems silly, yet theatrical, but since this is a CR blog, I continued to ponder.
    Scripture followed with “Ask, and it shall be given you; seek; and you shall find; knock and it shall be opened unto you. [Matthew 7:7-8].”
    “Seek and you shall find”…maybe, maybe not.
    How about “The Prayer Matt” (mat) or “The Young Prayer Matt?”
    At least you see I am giving this a college try, Matt!! 🙂
    Good luck to Father Jim!!

  10. OK, I like Fr. Jim’s suggestion and knew that I had to work off that variation… And, I’m willing to share the tickets with him… (But, he buys the first beer.)

    You are writing mostly about young people and they are working their way through stuff.

    In Genesis 32: 25-30, Jacob wrestles with what may have been an angel. The being praises him for having “contended with divine and human beings and have prevailed.” That is the very same struggle that all youth and young adults must face.

    My suggestion…. (The) Wrestling Matt

  11. Paul Sparklin says:

    is it too late to enter??

    MATTer of fact!!!

  12. Anonymous says:

    Last mnute entry – Matt’s iPalm Reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

